AUS 230 Major Project

OBJECTIVES

The aim of my major project is to try and find out a sound (production) that will make me stand out or be different from other producers out there, expand my knowledge of music production and to learn new production skills used by other producers that will help me in my future productions.

In this project, I will be producing two singles in music genres that I have never produced before. My track will in a fusion of afro beats and hip hop music produced with a combination of both acoustic and electronic sound to try find my own sound. To succeed with my project, I will research on both genre (afro-beat and hip hop) as also find help from producer who have a better understand of the above music genres to help me out with ideas that will take my productions to a different level.

 

Motivation/inspiration

I find my motivation and inspiration from the afro beat artists and producers such as Timaya, Wizkid and Patoranking all from Nigeria who have worked hard to uplift the African music (afro beats) to the global market. Today international commercial artists such as drake, Rihanna, Beyoncé and much more are seen are making hit records from featuring afro beat artists and making music in afro beat fusion. Recently drake made a successful song called One dance featuring Wizkid an afro beat artist from Nigeria. Rihanna’s work featuring Drake made from incorporating features from afro dancehall music like the beat and lyrics written in patois a language spoken in Africa and Caribbean countries.

PRODUCT.

2 Afro beat and Hip Hop fusion singles

  • Originally composed.
  • The tracks will be individually mixed and mastered in format of 48KHz/24 bit WAV file versions
  • Professionally Designed Art work (covers) for Each track.

TARGET AUDIENCE

The target market for these singles will be both African females and male between the age of 15-25 Year olds.

Living in East and West African region, Trinidad Tobago and Jamaica because its where afro-beat music is big and being supported the most compared to other parts of the world.

The fusion of hip hop music that I will be including in my Afro beat singles will attract attention from Hip-Hop lovers  around my target region.

MARKETING IDEAS

 I will be using social medias like Facebook, YouTube and sound cloud to engage and target with customers of my product as it’s an international market which is far away from where am based.

I will buy radio time in east and west Africa for my music to be played on radio station to reach a wide range of people who aren’t connected to social media in these regions

I will send out my music to be published in my targeted regions by publisher and promoter working with the same kind of music that I will be producing.

I collaborate with Djs and producer based in my targeted regions ask them to promote and share my production to their audiences as I do the same with their production.

I will also try out and sell my production to my local fans and follower who knows they might end loving the product thus giving me a new market in the local region.

Methodology Graph

Screen Shot 2016-07-07 at 11.43.36 PM

PROJECT TEAM MEMBERS, ROLES & RESPONSIBILITIES

 Emmanuel Lodu (Head Engineer/Producer)

–       Studio Recording

–       Mixing

–       Mastering

Zac Mergard (Co-producer)

  • Resourcing
  • Composing
  • Drum programming

Simon (Assistant Engineer)

  • Studio Recording assistance
  • Editing
  • vocalist

Below is the schedule showing how the project will be managed on a weekly basis.

PRODUCTION PROCESS
WHEN

 

WHAT
WEEK 7 –       Research on the hip hop and afro-beats production techniques which include sampling, vocal chopping and hip hop and afro-beat drum programming.

–       Meet up with the collaborators and put down ideas together on how they will help me succeed with my singles productions.

 

WEEK 8 –        Record drums (sample live drums)

–       source and collect samples to be used

–       Produce instrumentals/beats for the tracks

WEEK 9 –       Record guitars

–       Create leads pads and chorus using synthesizers

–       Write down the lyrics to the song with the artist/s.

–       Rehearsal the tracks.

WEEK 10 –       Record vocals

–       Arrange them ready for mixing.

–       Design art work for the tracks cover

–       Listening sessions for feedback

WEEK 11 –       Mix all the songs

–       Reference the tracks to make sure the mixes are clean and good

–       Seek feedback from professionals and peers.

–       Re-adjust the mixes (if needed)

WEEK 12 –       Master the and Reference songs to make sure they are good quality.

–       Listening session for feedbacks

WEEK 13 –       Submit the final product for assessment

–       Release final product to the public via sound cloud

–       Present to the class.

RISKS

 What can go wrong in terms of the process and production

  • Poor time management
  • Working with Unreliable artist/s and co-workers
  • Misunderstanding between producer and artist/s
  • Machine malfunction
  • Loss of data
  • Limited Studio time
  • Music piracy
  • Uncontrolled risks (injury or death)
  • Stressed artists (ergonomic and Physiological)

 Contingency Plan and risk management

  • Have multiple backs up storage of the project
  • Have multiple tools to use
  • Book studios in advance
  • Sign contracts and agreement between collaborators.
  • Rehearsal with the artist to know their strength and weakness
  • Work with committed artists/co-worker
  • Copy right music with APRA
  • Create a comfortable working place
  • Take regular breaks off work
Leave a Reply

